At St Anthony’s, First Friday devotion, that is devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus,  is comprised of Mass and Holy Eucharist at 5pm on the First Friday of each month.  This devotion is ages old, beginning in the later part of the 17th century when St. Margaret Mary Alacoque made it widespread.  Our Lord appeared to her in 1675 and delivered 12 promises of His unfathomable mercy; the last of which concerns the grace of final repentance at the hour of death.  To receive this grace, the devotee must make a novena by attending Mass and receiving communion in reparation for sins on nine consecutive First Fridays.

According to this devotion, the First Friday of each month was designated by Jesus himself as consecrated to honoring his Sacred Heart, to increase our love for him and to make reparations for past and present offenses against his love.

The 12 Promises of The Sacred Heart to St. Margaret Mary

  1. I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.
  2. I will give peace in their families.
  3. I will console them in all their troubles.
  4. I will be their refuge in life and especially in death.
  5. I will abundantly bless all their undertakings.
  6. Sinners shall find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.
  7. Tepid souls shall become fervent.
  8. Fervent souls shall rise speedily to great perfection.
  9. I will bless those places wherein the image of my Sacred Heart shall be exposed and venerated.
  10. I will give to priests the power to touch the most hardened hearts.
  11. Persons who propagate this devotion shall have their names eternally written in my Heart.
  12. In the excess of the mercy of my heart, I promise you that my all powerful love will grant to all those who will receive Communion on the First Fridays, for nine consecutive months, the grace of final repentance: they will not die in my displeasure, nor without receiving the sacraments; and my Heart will be their secure refuge in that last hour.
First Fridays | St. Anthony